What Revit WantsA Black Grid publication
From the archive

When Undo will not Undo

· Luke Johnson

Every now and then, Revit will remove everything from the list of things you can Undo.

It’s called ‘flushing the undo stack’.

Various things trigger this scary behaviour:

  • Making a Workset editable WITHOUT using the Worksets dialog box
  • Deleting a View, from a workshared project that is not ‘checked out’ (editable, see first point)
  • Deleting a Family via the Project Browser, from a workshared project where the Family is not ‘checked out’ (editable, see first point)

An interesting workaround – if you check out the View workset manually (using the Workset dialog), and THEN Delete it, you can still Undo from this point.

This leads to some seriously scary possibilities – if you plan to delete a view with a 1000 detail lines and text elements, make extra-certain first!

Discussion

0 archived comments. New comments are not enabled.